SF board leadership changes

The Spring-Ford School Board’s Hermans to serve as president and Wright as vice president.


Photos courtesy of Spring-Ford

Erica Hermans (left) is the new Spring-Ford School Board president and former president, Dr. Margaret Wright, will assume the role of vice president.

Arhan Kaul, Features Editor

The Spring-Ford School Board changed their organizational structure significantly last December. The changes included some major position changes for various individuals on the board, as Board Vice President Erica Hermans and President Margaret Wright effectively switched roles.

Hermans was nominated and voted in unanimously as the President of the board, succeeding Wright. Hermans is the representative from Region 3 and has been an active member since she joined. As the new president, her responsibilities include communicating directly with Spring-Ford Superintendent Robert Rizzo, facilitating the board’s discussions, and a myriad of other important tasks.

Additionally, Wright was nominated and unanimously elected to serve as Vice President of the School Board. Wright was the Board’s most recent president and she has years of experience on the Board.

Along with the shifts in leadership, a few other key roles were switched as well. For example, Gabrielle Deardoff will replace David Shafer as the Pennsylvania School Board Association representative for Spring-Ford. Meanwhile, Shafer will replace Jennifer Motzer as Board representative to the Spring City American Legion.

Some positions did not change at all. Deardoff will continue to serve on the Montgomery County School Directors Legislative Committee while Colleen Zazowski will also continue her service on the Western Montgomery County Career and Technical Center Committee.