Rampage writers win state honors


Staff Photo

Spring-Ford juniors Alex Dickerman (from left), Jocelyn Wright, and Brayden Rush won honors at the Keystone Student Media Awards Competition. All three writers are editors on Rampage.

Staff Report

Three Spring-Ford students finished among the state’s best high school journalists in the Keystone Student Media Awards Competition sponsored by the Pennsylvania News Media Association.

Junior Alex Dickerman won first place in the state for column writing and junior Jocelyn Wright won first place in the state for review writing. Junior Brayden Rush won honorable mention for column writing. This is the first year Rampage writers have won multiple first-place awards. The students will be honored in a ceremony this April in Harrisburg. All student news and stories can be found at the Rampage website https://sframpage.org.

Dickerman wrote columns on political polarization, the national teaching shortage, and the issue of book banning. Jocelyn wrote the review on the haunted attractions and history of Pennhurst. Brayden wrote columns on vaccine mandates, voting, and school start times.