Rams soccer rebounds, net trip to states

Andrew Eross, Sports Editor

With a first year head coach, this year’s Spring-Ford boys soccer team rebounded from a 1-2-1 start all the way towards a State quarterfinal finish, the furthest in program history.

This year’s squad was all about the defense, in which first-team, all-PAC senior keeper PJ Pozniak stood strong in net for ten shutouts in the team’s last twelve regular-season games. This terrific stretch was good for a first place in the Liberty Division by means of a 11-2-4 overall record heading into the playoffs.

While unfortunately dropping the opening round of PAC Final 4, the Rams still sat at a comfortable tenth seed in the District One Tournament, securing at least one home game at Spring-Ford’s McNelly Stadium.

The Rams thwarted Neshaminy by an outstanding defensive effort by Pozniak and a back line of George Neatherly, Noah Holland, and CJ Giles. A Joey Ricevuto score in penalty kicks was the deciding factor in the teams 1-0 win by a 4-2 penalty kick margin following overtime. An encore shutout and 1-0 win thanks to a David Alban overtime header over Council Rock South earned a quarterfinal berth.

Despite falling 2-0 to second-seeded Conestoga, the Rams quickly regained momentum by rebounding with yet another 1-0 victory in playbacks, securing a spot as the eventual sixth-seeded team from District One. This time it was center midfielder Leo Aguilar netting the game’s only score.

To wrap up the team’s successes, the Rams then upset favored Central Dauphin with opening first 20-minute pair of goals from Luca Carboy and Leo Aguilar. Pozniak’s net presence once again held strong for a 2-1 win.

And while Spring-Ford unfortunately suffered a season-ending loss to Seneca Valley in the following days, it was a beyond-accomplished season for not only a division title but also a second-round state tournament appearance, the first in team history.

The Rams’ seniors each deserve credit for having been a part of four straight winning records in their careers: PJ Pozniak, David Alban, Jonah Wuertz, Joey Ricevuto, Leo Aguilar, Luca Carboy, Matt Henzler, George Neatherly, Brendan Sites, Cameron Jones, and Logan Bromirski.